MikeGinnyGOLD Member
HOP Mad Doctor
13,925 posts

Posted:
So I'm not sure if this post is in the right place, but if not, I invite any moderator to move it to a more appropriate place.

Ok, so as many of you know I'm a medical student. What you may not know is that I'm pretty heavily into Complimentary and
Alternative Medicine (CAM), herbs, homeopathy, that sort of stuff.

So today we actually had some naturopaths lecturing to us and I asked one of them about ginseng. I'm going to share it here because I'd bet that some people here might use it. Here's what I learned:

*There are two major types of Ginseng, Eluthro and Panax . Eluthro is commonly known as Siberian Ginseng. Panax is a genus that comes in two varieties, American and Asian, a.k.a. Korean, a.k.a. Chinese. These two varieties are very similar, medicinally.

* Eluthro raises body temperature, causes some sweating, and elevates your blood pressure, but that's about it. Not really worth taking. Panax , on the other hand, is anti-inflammatory and seems to increase physical endurance.

*You can get ginseng and its extracts in various commercial teas and beverages, but they are often loaded with adulterants, their potency is unpredictable, and they often contain both Eluthro and Panax . For this reason, this is not recommended.

*If you want to try using ginseng to enhance athletic performance, do so as follows: Buy some organic ginseng root. Prices vary, but good ginseng is a few hundred US dollars a pound. A two week's supply costs maybe US$5. Make sure that the root is relatively uniform in color and that it has no mold growing on it. Many health food stores carry ginseng root, but do NOT get pre-ground ginseng as oxygen can damage the active compounds!