FlapjacksSILVER Member
part of the lonely trio
137 posts

Posted:
(I've done a search for this, so sorry if I'm repeating someone!)

Okay, so I'm not that good at poi, but I'm even worse at teaching!...

I've got quite a few people I know interested in doing poi, who've asked me to teach them a few things while I'm there. I try, and I'm not sure why, but I find it really difficult to teach people - it's not so much that I don't know what I'm on about, as I can do, and understand the moves, I just find it really hard to teach them! I never feel like I'm communicating properly!

I know I could just send them to HoP, or to someone who can teach, but I know many people who have wanted to begin learning there and then. weavesmiley

Has any one got any good tips or necessities on teaching other people poi that they could lend me?

Thanks in advance, hug
koo xx

smells like burning teenagers..

Dragon7GOLD Member
addict
625 posts

Posted:
[Old link]

DurbsBRONZE Member
Classically British
5,689 posts

Posted:
Well, first off (forgive me for sounding harsh) but some people are really natural teachers (Glass, Dom & dsAds spring to mind) and just have a great way of explaining moves (except reverse fish-tails, but that might have been me wink ) whereas others find it really difficult.

Think back to how you learnt a move and try that approach. It also really helps if you know many different ways of explaining a move - I've seen the weave taught in oh-so-many ways, and different ways work for different people.

It might not be that you're a bad teacher, it's possible that you're just not explaining to that particular person in a way that they find easy to understand (which leads to frustration, anger, hate, the darkside etc.)

People like those I mentioned above are possibly great teachers as they are SUCH good spinners, however a good spinner is not always a good teacher smile