Login/Join to Participate
Page:
onewheeldaveGOLD Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,252 posts

Posted:
This thread :-

[Old link]

covers the dangers of fire breathing very well, and has links to other useful stuff like Peles 'A season in Hell'

One of the latest replies details an incident where fire breathing was taught to complete beginners, some of whom where drunk.

I've also heard of this happening where I am, and I'm sure it will continue to increase.

There have now been many nasty accidents involving fire breathing, some causing death and some involving children.

Fortunately, the facts about the dangers have been well discussed here and we are now aware of the toxic properties of fuel, the fact that serious accidents happen even to the most experienced performers etc.

However, none of this is well known to the general public who are prone take the word of those who claim it's safe if done properly.

In this thread I'd like to focus on one simple and clearly put question: -

Should spinners, as a community, disassociate themselves from fire breathing, and, where possible, endeavour to spread awareness about its dangers and basically do their best to discourage it?

Practical examples could be-

when asked to spin at events ask the organisers if they're going to allow fire breathing and, if they are, refuse to spin, or at least inform them of the safety issues and point them to the above thread.

if organising a gathering make it known that fire breathing isn't welcome.

i.e. not just the kind of education that is already ongoing and spreading the word amongst experienced spinners, but informing those who are most at risk (the non fire community).

I'd be good if we don't get distracted by the side issues- 'it's down to individuals to choose...', or 'nothing in this world is 100% safe...' etc, if only because they've been well discussed in other threads.

"You can't outrun Death forever.
But you can make the Bastard work for it."

--MAJOR KORGO KORGAR,