Forums > Help! > Melting Metal?! WTF?

Login/Join to Participate

*poppy*BRONZE Member
27 posts

Posted:
I'm kinda new to poi so I don't know if what just happen is normal or not:
I got out my fire poi, which I used yesterday and were fine, dipped one of them in the fuel (lamp oil), and before I had even started spinning, maybe 30 seconds after I lit it, the wick dropped off. I had a look and the clip that attached it to the chain had melted clean through. No wear and tear ( these where quite new, I've used them 5/6 times), just melted through. Does this happen a lot? I've never seen or heard of it before. What can I do to make it stop?! I'm really pissed off now. and kinda worried. Help!
frown

MikeIconGOLD Member
Pooh-Bah
2,109 posts

Posted:
What kind of poi were they? Were they home made or bought? If they were bought, where did you get them? What exactly was the attachment? What was it made out of? What kind of fuel were you using? Were you spinning them roughly (wraps/air wraps/spinning fast)?

Normally, no. This is not supposed to happen. If the poi were made right there should be no chance of the poi coming apart mid spin. If they were home made I would suggest changing your design and using a different connector that wont melt/break. If they were bought, I suggest going somewhere else like the HoP shop.

Let's turn those old bridges we crossed into ashes.
We'll blaze a new trail,
and torch the rough patches.

-Me

FireMeccaBRONZE Member
69 posts

Posted:
Where did you buy your poi?

MJ
Flamma Aeterna

That which does not kill me, only makes me stranger.

DomBRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,009 posts

Posted:
The clip could have been made of an inferior quality metal that got brittle under heat. Without knowing the source and type of the clip it's hard know what advice to give.

Quicklinks tend to good for connecting wicks to chain.

arsnHow do you change this thing???
1,903 posts

Posted:
That's some nice selling there Dom... real sweet... rolleyes