Forums > Social Discussion > Any Graphic Designers amoung us .......

Login/Join to Participate

MEERCATBRONZE Member
A Meerkat that eats chicken
194 posts

Posted:

At the moment i am studying Graphic design i finish my course in june/july, I am not very confindent at using packages like ILLUSTRATOR , FLASH ,DREAMWEAVER of course i will be looking for a job soon as well.

In your experience do you generally learn as you go along in a job anyway ?

Did anyone feel the same when they came out of higher education and look back and wonder what you were worrying about?

Is it mostly a creative innovative mind and a good portfolio they are trying to employ ?

Any information about the design world and employment would be of great help to me and will calm my nerves a bit. THANKYOU

smile smile smile

Angeltearsmember
4 posts

Posted:
Don't panic! At uni you get bogged down with learning things to pass the course, try to remember why you were there in the first place and why you wanted to do what you are doing (difficult sometimes i know) because this is what really shows through in your personality. I went to uni to escape from a dead-end job and left last year. I am doing a masters, but then i am a scientist and cannot give you direct help with the graphics industry.

However, my boyfriend and most of my close friends did a computer animation degree(which is kinda in the same vein as you) and they have found that people in their industry are looking for creative POTENTIAL not expertise on loads of computer programs. People have done drawing tests, animation tests and spacial awareness type things at interviews, but never computer skills.

My advice would be when you go to interviews don't pretend you know everything about the programs (they will know you are lying and will catch you out as they know loads) but show that you have a determination to learn the program if necessary and if you get the job, learn the relavent program ASAP.