Forums > Social Discussion > When does being good at something become arrogant?

Login/Join to Participate
Page:
RoziSILVER Member
100 characters max...
2,996 posts

Posted:
I am spinning with a uni club at the moment, and I feel really weird about it. For a start, I feel way too old. I am a staff member there, and by god do I feel like the odd one out amongst the students.

I am better than the other poi spinners there. I know more, and I can put it together more smoothly. But there are some amazing skills around me and some nifty new ideas. Its just that I feel so strange about teaching. If I walk up to someone and say "hey, what can I teach you?" it will sound so arrogant. And it shuts me out. Its not so bad with total newbies, but with those who know a lot already. I don't know how to bridge the divide of age and skill level.

Any suggestions?

And if any of you were there, please know I think you are lovely. And I may seem quiet and strange and arrogant, but I am just feeling uncomfortable. Its not you, its me.

It was a day for screaming at inanimate objects.

What this calls for is a special mix of psychology and extreme violence...

DentrassiGOLD Member
ZORT!
3,045 posts

Posted:
but perhaps the act of getting someone off their podium is percieved as arrogant? i met one guy who though he was the head poi macho dude cos he could do a 5bt weave - not even in a combo. he was so full of himself and showing off for the entire evening i ended up lighting up once and doing some basic double neck wraps to shut him up.
would that single act be defined as arrogant - i didnt mean to put him in his place below me [cos i really dont care], just show him that he's got alot to learn and i hate cocky bastards. confused

"Here kitty kitty...." - Schroedinger.

PyrolificBRONZE Member
Returning to a unique state of Equilibrium
3,289 posts

Posted: