Forums > Beginner Poi Moves > Having a tough time with a 4 beat wave....

Login/Join to Participate

SilvurBRONZE Member
sumthin sumin smmnm....
372 posts

Posted:
I am really new to poi, (I'm a staffer) but have recently decided to pick up this habit to help feed my firepoi addiction. I figured out the butterfly and the weave pretty quick, and I can kinda do the weave (3 beat) behind my back for 4 or 5 rotations, but i have yet to learn how to do a couple of things, and this really bugs me.

the 2 things i have been working on are the 4 and 5 beat weaves, as well as smoothly bringing the poi to a point behind me where i can dive into the btb weave. I have hit myself in the face too many times to count, and I have permanent welts all over because i just can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. i've looked at the lessons and seen the videos, but they just don't helo, and i don't know any poiers up here, and would like to have a decent base to start with for when i hit up new zealand.

any advice?

weavesmiley

Red_RaveNGOLD Member
Neo - Hippie
358 posts

Posted:
To bring the poi behind you, you just break the weave, spin split-time for a while and then put your arms behind your back and the btb should start by itself, just don't think about it too much.; o)

The 4 bt, well just spin the weave and keep it on one side, don't transfer... Check how the poi go and then try to transfer so that you go left with the left hand and right with the right hand, as opposed to the 3 bt where you go with the opposite hand first... erm.. this is confusing, hope you'll find somebody who'll explain it better...

Smile.. It confuses people..:)

Wonders never cease as long as you never cease to wonder.

colemanSILVER Member
big and good and broken
7,330 posts

Posted:
i'm gonna pass on giving any 4bt advice cos its hard to type out the wrist curl stuff but for smooth btb transfer, i say carries work well.

these are basically spread out circles.