Forums > Social Chat > The Problem with new spinners today...

Login/Join to Participate
Page:
UCOFSILVER Member
15,417 posts

Posted:
Ive been spinning poi for a good two years now, and I am always more than willing to teach anyone who wants to learn.

Now a bit of background info: Sunbeam, Konsti (troubled badger notjingt to lose) and I (and also another friend) are all at University together.

Here there are many spinners.

The number is growing as well...

however, there is one thing that for some odd reason annoys me (well, not reallys annoys, more like its me being a bit grumpy)

Hyperloops.

I had been spininng for two years before these dumbfounded contraptions of moves were invented.

I learnt the "moves" in poi as most people do (2 beat/ chase, butterfly, corkscrew, 3 beat, 4, 5, etc) and then i learnt hyperloops.

But nowerdays people are wanting to learn Hyperloops straight away.

But I say NO!

My question to you is:

Is my saying NO! justified?

Should people, when learing this Poi malarky, start with easy moves or go straight into hard technicalised stuff?

Is there even a correct order in which to learn spinning?

*mandoratory suck up to not offend anyone coming up*

This post isnt aimed at ANYONE on here and i dont not mean to cause offence. If you dont like what im saying, then print up a t-shirt and tell the world. I dont care. wink

*mandatory suck up finished*

UCOFSILVER Member
15,417 posts

Posted:
cheers for the replies eeryone...they make great reading.

I appologise if anyone took offence at eth title. It was indeed a huge generalisation.

and Konsti, I explained yesterday to you that you are not the ONLY person. wink

FrodoBRONZE Member
old hand
1,092 posts

Posted:
include me in the generalistional black list!!

konsti... want to set up a rebel body?? arghrrrhrhhr mad

passing through, this world still lives.

VixenSILVER Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,276 posts

Posted: