PeleBRONZE Member
the henna lady
6,193 posts

Posted:
It is no secret I do dangerous stuff for a living, though I do it as safely as possible.
Since my accident I had to back off a bit, which lead me to dancing more and teaching dance.

Now, my parents, and in fact a few others have preached to me about not being stupid and doing such things. That I should "settle down" and stop being "irresponsible".
I understand they speak from a place of deep love for me, yet they do not listen from that same place.

I love what I do, and with caution and wisdom it is not so bad. I truly believe everything is a calculated risk. So, I am not prepared to quit, but I am also not prepared to answer to others, especially my parents. I am 30 and do not need their permission, but in deceiving them I still feel like that guilty little girl who snuck candy before dinner.

With everyone else I am proud of what I do.
And now it is coming to a point where it is becoming unavoidable that they will find out.
Should I tell them or let them see it in a paper or on the t.v. and explain from there?

Is it truly better to ask for forgiveness than for permission?
I have such a shakey relationship already, and I know this will make it worse, but I am striving to preserve what I can for the sake of my son, who adores his grandparents, and should.
I love them but I have to live my life for myself. I just...I just don't know how to involve them without hurting them.

I am not sure if I am looking for advice or if I just need to vent. It is all very confusing.
*shrug*

Pele
Higher, higher burning fire...making music like a choir
"Oooh look! A pub!" -exclaimed after recovering from a stupid fall
"And for the decadence of art, nothing beats a roaring fire." -TMK

Twisthem488member
187 posts

Posted:
mind if i ask what happened? i hope that whatever it is, things go well between you and your loved ones. *hugs*

Im a Thespian, But I'll Act Normal Around You Guys

CharlesBRONZE Member