DutSILVER Member
lurker
380 posts

Posted:
I bought a pair of chained, rubber ball practice poi about a year and a half ago, but didn't practice much. They were basically an impulse buy at a local open air market that had a nice juggling booth. I've never done any juggling before (i still couldn't juggle three balls if you paid me), but I had been into some Medieval Recreation in the past and learned to do a "figure eight" with two swords. This transfered well to the poi, and became my first trick (before I could even spin them overhand or underhand to the side of my body. =) It also took me a bout two tries to figure out what's apparently known as the "low wave". I've found this site, and started practicing again recently. I can do all the fun newb stuff like spinning the balls to the side of me overhand and underhand.. turning around to switch from overhand to underhand (go homeofpoi.com!), all of the front-side versions of the "butterfly" line, etc. I have a few questions that I'll post in the appropriate forum, but I also just wanted to say "HI" and let you all know that I'd been lurking for a bit and joined the ranks. =)Also, if you're in New Orleans, and want to meet up and show off / teach me how not to develop bad habits, I'd love to get an email from you.-- Dutps. Do I tell people that I "spin poi"? or is there some other verb that is more often used? heh. me == silly newb. =)[This message has been edited by Dut (edited 22 March 2002).]

M@TTmember
34 posts

Posted:
Hey. I'm from Pensacola, which is relatively close. I should be over in New Orleans this summer visiting a friend. I'd love to get together and spin. Have you worked up to fire yet??? You can e-mail me or IM me. decatur540@hotmail.com AIM s/n: decatur540------------------ -M@TTKeep the fire burning.

-M@TTKeep the fire burning.

CantusSILVER Member
Tantamount to fatuity
15,966 posts

Posted: