Forums > Social Chat > Spun in Joshua Tree this weekend

Login/Join to Participate

Dru Lee Parsecmember
78 posts

Posted:
My Wife and I just got back from camping in Joshua Tree Nat. Park is the desert of Southern California this weekend. Well, I've been spinning Poi for just about a month now so I thought I'd bring them camping.I'm still very new at this, and I'm still pretty self-conscious about spinning where ANYONE can see me, but there's something about being out in the desert that just clicked for me.If you're not familer with J-Tree, it's a huge desert with gigantic boulder formations and millions of bizzare looking Joshua Trees. It's very surreal at times. The cover of U2's album "The Joshua Tree" was taken there, but it doesn't show the rocks, just a large expanse of the joshua trees.There's something about spinning in the desert. As I'm doing my few tricks with my comet poi by the light of the camp fire I found that I stopped thinking about what trick to do next and just started letting my body move with the poi. I'm huffing and puffing with the excertion of the spinning (and fighting the below freezing wind chill) the wind is blowing and the campfire light is dancing on the rocks behind me casting weird shadows of me and my poi . . The only way I could describe the way I felt was "primal".Wow. What a feeling. For a few short moments I felt a sort of primal/pagen connection with the rocks, the fire, the wind, and the poi. (and yes folks, this was in a totally drug free state wink )Just thought I'd share my experience with you folks. It was a brief, but amazing moment which I hope to experience again some time.

For a good Prime, call:29819592777931214269172453467810429868925511217482600306406141434158089

pozeeBRONZE Member
old hand
887 posts

Posted: