PeleBRONZE Member
the henna lady
6,193 posts

Posted:
Malcolm and I were talking earlier about why people become publically presented artists.It is really easy to keep spinning for the joy in your back yard and at friends parties.Recently my email box and HoP seems to have an upsurgence of "I am looking to be a professional performer" type things, which is not bad at all, mind you.What I am curious about is why do you want to become a performer?For me, I have always been a performer. From dancing when I was very young to stage and singing to improv and now fire. As much as I am a writer and fill my words with passion, I do the same for every personality on stage and for every movement and show. It is a release, an escape, for me and I truly go batty when I don't get it. In a way it is a validation as well. There are times when I feel I have no other purpose in life than to try to make people feel...to laugh, to cry, to awe, to fear, to think and wonder, and to present it in a way that is outside thier comfortable norm. Performing allows me to validate that purpose, that desire, to express my emotion and make others feel at the same time. There is no feeling in the world than watching people's faces shift and fill with any emotion, and knowing some part of me (however distant that character might be from the *real* me) did that. And I say any emotion because I am an extremely passionate and sensative person. I *feel* all the time and I see so many going through the daily grind seemingly void of all feeling. I don't understand that but it makes my sense of purpose even stronger. I told Malcolm a friend once said that he does his art for himself, not to share with others, that if others like it or not, he doesn't care. He creates it for himself, he shares it to make money. I sheepishly admit, that is part of my reasoning as well. As long as I do my art(s) and I do them at very least adequately, I might as well make money from it. smileAnyway, those are my reasons, and