Forums > Social Chat > Poi and all it's different weights....

Login/Join to Participate

Dj Masta Killamember
4 posts

Posted:
Ok heres the deal. I've been spinning poi for about 7 months now and i've noticed that the lighter your opi are the faster they go... Makes sense eh? The beaming balls are quite heavy. When i first started learning poi i had picked up a pair of them and boy i learned quickly! oww.... When i attach glowsticks on my strings, they are alot lighter. I can get up to 6 glowsticks on each string and it still doesnt compare to the beaming balls. I would like to get everyones opinion on whether you like heavier poi or light poi and why...

The Welcome Mattmember
193 posts

Posted:
I still haven't really decided which I like better... I really love my beaming poi and I have gotten pretty use to them, but I also use glowsticks a lot and I still have a lot of fun with those too. If I had to choose I would prob. go with glowsticks because you don't have to exert as much effort and you can spin longer with them.

I dreamt that I ate a 10 pound marshmellow and then when I woke up, my pillow was gone!

Gruffmember
106 posts

Posted:
Personally I prefer weightier poi.I just like the fact that I can 'feel' what Im spinning and I feel that I have better control over them.I find that I can spin slow patterns with accuracy and also speed them up with not much extra effort to create a varied routine.Also I use the weight to my advantage by sometimes allowing the poi to climb slowly to a peak and then fall under its own weight. It looks really graceful when done properly and I often add a turn to this move as well.Having said that I do like spinning occaisional light stuff and do some crazy high speed stuff with little effort. I usually cheat though and weight the glowsticks.Gruff

DomBRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,009 posts

Posted: