• All Purchases made this month instantly go into the draw to win a USD $ 100.00 credit to your HoP account.

Forums > Social Chat > Here's on e for you all

Login/Join to Participate
Page: 12
Pele
BRONZE Member since Dec 2000

Pele

the henna lady

Total posts: 6193
Posted:So, as you know we are (slowly) planning the International Convention for 2003.We *hope* to have a mainstage to spotlight professional performers/groups to get a real good taste of styles, costumes, presentations, tra la la.It was mentioned that I should perform at this thing and the thought turns my stomach. Workshoppes I'll do, no problem. But to get up on the main stage and perform...no....and I am a professional performer by trade!
Non-Https Image Link
So, then tonite I spoke with a friend who owns a group and asked him if he'd be interested. After his initial comment of "Baby, you couldn't afford me"
Non-Https Image Link
(You know you had that coming!
Non-Https Image Link
)he declined and I realised for the same reason I don't want to perform....we have both witnessed the way several people on here tend to watch performers and then proceed to rip them to shreds. Neither of us feel comfortable performing because of that (though he more politically put it as the group doesn't feel comfortable performing for their peers).So my question...are you comfortable performing for your peers (not getting up and spinning for the fun of it, I mean performing). Why or why not?------------------Pele Higher, higher burning fire...making music like a choir...http://www.pyromorph.com

Pele
Higher, higher burning fire...making music like a choir
"Oooh look! A pub!" -exclaimed after recovering from a stupid fall
"And for the decadence of art, nothing beats a roaring fire." -TMK

Delete Topic

Cantus
SILVER Member since Jul 2001

Cantus

Tantamount to fatuity

Total posts: 15965
Posted:I don't perform. I just spin.

"I'll carry this....It's harder to spill a hat" - Chellybean