Forums > Social Chat > dealing with laughter/abuse?

Login/Join to Participate

fluffy napalm fairyCarpal \'Tunnel
3,638 posts

Posted:
I've recently started teaching myself poi and, being the complete beginner but nevertheless addicted to my newfound hobby, I need to practice as much as possible. However, people are getting me down......They laugh, don't take me seriously and mutter (or shout) sly comments (depending on their personal bravery). On the one hand this strengthens my resolve to be better, more accurate and more fluid, but on the other hand it's disheartening and really quite sad.Does anyone else get hassled and how do you deal with it?Ros xx

Geologists do it in the dirt................ spank

collinsc311SILVER Member
5 posts

Posted:
I learned not too long ago, and I remember a few friends who mocked and jeered. Telling me I was going to burn my damn head off. Basically, just ignore them. Those people have no idea what it is all about. When you light your poi up for the first time, and give them a show they won't forget, then you will have your time of redemption! Keep it up, though. Once you learn a couple of tricks, they will start flowing before you know it!

If we were all affected by Pacman as children we would be sitting in dark rooms, munching pills, and listening to electronic music!

Thistleold hand
950 posts

Posted:
Hi Ros welcome to HOP. Where abouts in the uk are you? you could do a search on *dealing with jerks*. This very subject was covered quite recently.Onelove, Thistlefirepixie smile[This message has been edited by Thistle (edited 14 December 2001).]

Are we nearly there yet?

**SMILEY**member
6 posts

Posted: