Forums > Videos > Stupid video camera

Login/Join to Participate

Puk
Puk

Sweet talented nutter
Location: Brisbane Oz
Member Since: 3rd Aug 2002
Total posts: 2615
Posted:I've just got this brad new video camera . And it just will not load up to my lap top . I've read the manual's and i've got everything and done everything wright .

Help Please


that shrewd and knavish sprite

Called Robin Good Fellow ; are you not he that is frighten of the maidens of the villagery - fairy

I am the merry wander of the night -puk

Delete Topic

ben-ja-men
ben-ja-men

just lost .... evil init
Location: Adelaide
Member Since: 12th Jun 2003
Total posts: 2474
Posted:well im assuming that u have a digital video camera and ur running windows on ur laptop. im hoping ur running xp cos that would just make it much much easier as it should detect the new device when u turn it on.

it sounds like ur not running xp though, i guess my first question would have to be have u installed the video cameras drivers onto the laptop? are u using the software that came with the video camera to try and get video off the camera? kinda need a bit more info to be more helpful


Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourself, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous and talented? Who are you NOT to be?

Delete

Puk
Puk

Sweet talented nutter
Location: Brisbane Oz
Member Since: 3rd Aug 2002
Total posts: 2615
Posted:Yeah im useing Xp and i've installed the program.
All the camera does when i try anything is go to web cam


that shrewd and knavish sprite

Called Robin Good Fellow ; are you not he that is frighten of the maidens of the villagery - fairy

I am the merry wander of the night -puk

Delete

MillenniuM
MillenniuM

Hyperloops suck

Member Since: 10th Jul 2003
Total posts: 595
Posted:In your video editor, there should be something that says "Import" usually in the file menu. Look for that, or read the directions on your editing program that shows where to import footage from a camera.

Delete

MikeIcon
MikeIcon

Pooh-Bah
Location: Philadelphia, PA - USA
Member Since: 27th Mar 2003
Total posts: 2109
Posted:Do you have a video editing program like Adobe Premiere? Usually you have to go into that and capture clips from the camera. You dont just plug in the camera and get videos. If you have done all this then I dunno. Maybe give us a little more info on exactly what youre doing, what type of hardware youre using and what is happening.

Let's turn those old bridges we crossed into ashes.
We'll blaze a new trail,
and torch the rough patches.

-Me

Delete

PK_
PK_

Lambretta Fanatic

Member Since: 20th Dec 2001
Total posts: 4991
Posted:try windows movie maker for basics, it should be easy to follow the step by step capture functions, though be careful as editing programs like premire dont like captured footage from moviemaker.
what make camera is it?, have you got the latest drivers from their website?, have you got fire wire card installed corectly?, is your cable knackard?, is your camera digital?.
xp normally picks your camera up automatically once you have plugged it in!, if it doesnt then you may have a problem unless you have double checked every thing.


PK.

"To be an angel, one need not have wings.
In giving love there is an equal grace.
Nor need one seek the aura in the face,
As love unveils the beauty of all things."

*Francois Couperin.

Delete

PK_
PK_

Lambretta Fanatic

Member Since: 20th Dec 2001
Total posts: 4991
Posted:the editing software i got with my fire wire card actually does not capture footage!, it took me ages to figure that out, you'd have thought it would being a capture device!.
damn roxio video wave shite!....


PK.

"To be an angel, one need not have wings.
In giving love there is an equal grace.
Nor need one seek the aura in the face,
As love unveils the beauty of all things."

*Francois Couperin.

Delete

bender
still can't believe it's not butter
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Member Since: 14th Nov 2001
Total posts: 6979
Posted:is it a digital cam?
gettin video footage to a 'pooter done two ways: downloading or capturing.

if your camera is digital it may have the function to directly download footage to your box as a video file already, saving you the effort of conversion from tape format. this will likely be the case if it is a non-crap digital video camera - it will have a firewire or usb 1 or 2 cable.

if your video is not digital or it dosn't download directly to PC, then you must get a capture card to interpret the s-video/sound output of the camera into a video file. The commone mistake people make when converting s-video to digital format is inadequately de-interlacing (removing those annoying horizontal black bars that appear across playback - a problem related to the differences in vertical resolution standards of video formats)

also, icecream is very bad for your video tapes.


Laugh Often, Smile Much, Post lolcats Always

Delete

Puk
Puk

Sweet talented nutter
Location: Brisbane Oz
Member Since: 3rd Aug 2002
Total posts: 2615
Posted:Thanks guy's you all rock !.

that shrewd and knavish sprite

Called Robin Good Fellow ; are you not he that is frighten of the maidens of the villagery - fairy

I am the merry wander of the night -puk

Delete

native
native

sleeping with angels
Location: anaheim CA usa
Member Since: 16th Jun 2004
Total posts: 508
Posted:switch to lenux it is easer

SLEEP WITH ANGELS muckieha

Delete

bender
still can't believe it's not butter
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Member Since: 14th Nov 2001
Total posts: 6979
Posted:^^ if i wanted open source, i'd leave the ketchup around without no lid wink

Laugh Often, Smile Much, Post lolcats Always

Delete

mixinluv2u
member
Location: chicago suburb, IL
Member Since: 12th Feb 2004
Total posts: 129
Posted:sometimes if you use a cheap firewire cable the connection won't be perfect (you might need to wiggle the cable around to find the right way to make it connect). that has happened to me.

so on the outside it'll look like everything connected correctly, but the computer does not recognize a new device (my miniDV camcorder). but if i push my firewire cable to the left and hold it there, it recognize it!

hope that helps?


Delete

mech
mech

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: "In your ear"
Member Since: 9th Jun 2003
Total posts: 6207
Posted:puk did you solve this prob? if not ill come and sort it out for you if you like, over stumbling round in teh dark
?


Step (el-nombrie)

Delete


Similar Topics

Using the keywords [stupid video camera] we found the following similar topics.
1. Learn > Fire Training > Fire training and safety > Fire training video *help/resource hop fire safety video we have created this video to bring...
2. Forums > My stupid emotions - advice please [202 replies]
3. Forums > Whats your Fav Video from a Hopper? [30 replies]
4. Learn > POI > Advanced Butterflies > Isolated Butterfly Buzzsaw *help/resource other as you can see me do in the video   turns are possible all though i...
5. Forums > Buying a digital video camera [10 replies]

     Show more..