Forums > Social Chat > Changing of the GUards

Login/Join to Participate

Ignis Devocomember
67 posts

Posted:
How often do you change your wick when it's kevlar?I use kevlar poi and I have burned them quite a few times, when do you know it's time to quit? Does kevlar burn forever?I have it on my fans and fingers as well. How do you make them last longer?Donia"Where there is fire, I seek the Flame."Rumi

Thistleold hand
950 posts

Posted:
I've had a set of kevlar wicks that I've been using for 18 months on a (very) regular basis and they are still going strong although they are starting to get a bit frayed on the edges. I always dip my wicks as soon as they go out to prevent them cooking whether I am going to light them again or not.When I used to make poi by wrapping wick around a centre bit of ally pole & I dismantled them to make new concertina style wicks, the wick in the middle was like brand new thus implying that I was not using my wicks to their full potential. Hope this helps.kind regards, Thistle firepixie. :-)

Are we nearly there yet?

nomadBRONZE Member
retired
356 posts

Posted:
I just got a set of fire poi from this site with kevlar wicks. I only used them 4-5 times (every time with Coleman fuel) and it seems like they burn very little. Last night, i could only spin for 1-2 minutes at a time before they went off. How do you guys take care of the Kevlar wicks? Any tips for longer burning time?

PeleBRONZE Member
the henna lady
6,193 posts

Posted: