Forums > Help! > Minimum size of repertoire?

Login/Join to Participate

Stubbsmember
31 posts

Posted:
Hi folks,

I've been spinning for a couple of months now, and have a number of moves down. I'm hankering to move onto fire, but I'm also wondering how big my tricks needs to be before it would be worthwhile. I can't really get a good feel if my current routine is really repetitive and boring -- I mean, I know what moves I'm doing, and I know when I'm just doing a few simple moves over and over, but it's hard to tell if a non-spinner who was watching me would be impressed by this. What's the consensus amongst the community on this issue?

For the record, these are the tricks that I can effectively link together:

-forward/backwards weave, linked, with turns, and with fountain
-shoulder reels/hip reels, split, linked and with turns
-windmill, corkscrew
-butterfly, angel wings
-buzzsaw

vanizeSILVER Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,899 posts

Posted:
First things first - do not do fire to impress others. Do it because you want to and because you feel like you are ready for it. If you feel confident and prepared and have an experienced spotter there to sort out any problems (someone you know is not afraid of fire, knows poi intimately, and that you trust), then light your wicks and do it for the experience. It doesn't matter what moves you do or don't have, you aren't going to be bored the first time you light up! Just don't do it till you truely feel like you are ready for it.

Good luck!
Viel Gluck!
Bon chance!
etc...

-v-

Wiederstand ist Zwecklos!

Red_RaveNGOLD Member
Neo - Hippie
358 posts

Posted:
Very true... I like fire very, very much but not because it's impressive... It's because of the feeling, of the sound and stuff... I personally like to spin with a smaller audience of people who actually know poi... Feedback helps but it shouldn't be the main goal...

Smile.. It confuses people..:)

Wonders never cease as long as you never cease to wonder.

PeleBRONZE Member