Forums > Help! > So i'm making a staff, and now i'm stuck!!

Login/Join to Participate

SilvurBRONZE Member
sumthin sumin smmnm....
372 posts

Posted:
so i got this idea one day, to make a staff out of wood. so out i went a hunting, and returned with a big hunk of birch. well, many days later, it's now been carved and sanded, and it's beautiful!!!

my only problem is this: how do i make it so that when the wicks are on, the wood doesn't catch fire? i know theres probably a really simple way that i just don't know cuz i've never done this before, but i don't know what to do!!!

please help!

polytheneveteran
1,359 posts

Posted:
Aluminium heat guards (bits of tube fixed on) each end are definitely a good idea. All the wooden staves I've seen have had a flame-resistant covering (like aluminium tape) along the length of the staff, but if you have a beautiful piece of birch it seems a shame to cover it... i don't know if there's something clear you can coat it in.

Personally, if I had such a beautiful piece of birch, I would keep it as it is for a practice/non fire staff, and get some cheap dowell for fire, because sooner or later that piece of birch will be black and spoiled.

The optimist claims that we are living in the best of all possible worlds.
The pessimist fears this is true.

Always make time to play in the snow.

CinderpupSILVER Member
30 posts

Posted:
Yeah, I dunno how you'd cover to make it so that yo ucould still see the wood. But I use electrical tape. the whole flame retardant thing is fun fun fun Plus it jus looks damn cool

And where I go the flame shall follow. Be warmed by my outward souls flare and may it guide you through darkened paths.

CodySILVER Member
That guy from Reno
556 posts

Posted: