Forums > Help! > Stick up for myself

Login/Join to Participate

sea gypsyBRONZE Member
51 posts

Posted:
I'm only a Poi beginner, but I'm alright.
I was recently told all Poi moves look the same.
I want a defence,
is there any move I'd be able to master that would look different to what I do already?

...never just an ordinary girl.

Lajisticalmember
9 posts

Posted:
maybe who ever told you this is upset cause they can not figure out how to do what most spinner's do?!?!?!?!?!?!?! pay no mind to them and you will find your groove, i myself are still looking for mine have fun!!!!!!!!!

CharlesBRONZE Member
Corporate Circus Arts Entertainer
3,989 posts

Posted:
Don't sweat it, Sea Gypsy. That person was saying much more about themsleves than they were about poi.

Don't let them put their limited perspective on you, they aren't worth it!

HoP Posting Guidelines
* Is it the Truth?
* Is it Fair to all concerned?
* Will it build Goodwill and Better Friendships?
* Will it be Beneficial to all concerned?

sea gypsyBRONZE Member
51 posts

Posted:
Thanks for all the encouragement.
I confess that it is someone who's opinion I care about deeply. I know there is a world of moves beyond the ones on the Poi pages, is there something easy I could try?

ZoltarBRONZE Member
Beginner
282 posts

Posted:
It all just looks like circles of light to non-spinners.

So much fire, so little body hair...

DurbsBRONZE Member
Classically British
5,689 posts

Posted:
I disagree Zoltar, if you spin fast the whole time then the intricicies (sp?) of some moves are lost but there are so much more than just circles to non-spinners.
Slow things down and moves live "Chasing the Sun" actually looks like two flames chasing each other, "Giant" moves - Giant Butterfly, giant windmill etc - really look impressive, then all the horizontal plane things; corkscrews, overhead butterfly, bring another pattern into the display.
Stalls and wraps all mess about with the patterns created.