Forums > Help! > When are you ready to light it up?

Login/Join to Participate

yummimember
15 posts

Posted:
Hey I've only been spinning for a week or two but I've got most of the basics down except behind the back stuff *grrrrr* my nemesis!! Anywho, just wondering when is a good time to take the plunge. I feel if I do it too early, my chops won't be strong enough but if I wait then I'll let the fear get the better of me. I mean now I'm enthusiastic and courageous but in a few more weeks who knows? Please share yout own experiences and let me know when did you first light up and what did you learn?
Thanks heaps!!

Life is GRAND and i am gratefulNamaste'Ren

Mark PBRONZE Member
old hand
1,031 posts

Posted:
Hi there,

2 weeks and you are dissapointed you cant do behind the back!?!?!?! I have been spinning for about 9 months now and still cant

Seriously though if you can do many of the moves after only a couple of weeks then I take my hat off to you, my first attempt with fire was after about 2-3 weeks. I hadnt had too much practice during that time as I didnt really get the bug until I lit up for the first time and could only do butterfly and forwards weave.

If you are confident with what you are doing then find yourself a safety and light up, there are plenty of threads that explain good safety procedures, so have a read of one of these first. Basically if you arent really happy doing a move then just dont try it with fire straight away build up starting with the easier moves and just get used to the feel/noise/love of fire

Mark P

GlåssDIAMOND Member
The Ministry of Manipulation
2,523 posts

Posted:
agrees with everything mark says

yea he's right,BTB is hardcore stuff.

What is it with newbies nowdays, its like learn the weave, learn revers then learn it BTB.
err no. Theres a lot of stuff in between.

Ok there are more than 350 poi moves.