Pik Ceestyxmember
2 posts

Posted:
hey all, Ive been spinning devil sticks for about 2 years now and have been contemplating moving up to fire. after some looking into I noticed the distinct lack of 'grippy' material on the baton (for obvious reasons) but after learning on crystal styx, with their insane grip, Im wondering if I should purchase an old school hardwood pair to get used to the lack of grip? or is there such a thing as a 'grippy'fire devil stick set, havent seen any yet, was wondering if anyone else had.

thanks for any replies
~Pik~

Why should I fear dragons? sure they are big and scary and breathe fire...but so can I!!

Evildmanmember
46 posts

Posted:
If you have learned on any type of flower sticks I strongly recommend practicing with any decent set of regular devil sticks before considering fire. The tassles on flower sticks are there to make them much slower and easier to learn. These tassles slow the flower sticks rotation in both axies. This means devil sticks, and firesticks will move much much faster, especially in regards to rolling down your handsticks if they are not perfectly parrallel to the ground.

Personally I use Todd Smith sticks both as my daytme/practice sticks. This means they both perform about the same, and move I practice with one will directly translate to the other.

As for grippy firesticks, and firestick will become slippery after it starts getting covered in soot, which happens very quickly.

In order to prepare for this I use a set of handsticks with no grip added at all. Bare wood all the way.

This forces you to rely more on pure balance and momentum, instead of artificially enhanced grip. This has the added benefit of making your normal handsticks feel as if they are glued to the devil, allowing your normal/daytime routine to look much smoother.

Anyway thats my $.02, good luck, hop that helps.