Forums > Social Chat > Hints to learning Fire???

Login/Join to Participate

AnonymousPLATINUM Member

Posted:
Hi, I'm just a rookie at learning Poi but am learning fast. Can't wait to do Fire. Any hints from the pros what 'not' to do when learning and of course what 'to' do. Thanks...

AnonymousPLATINUM Member

Posted:
when on fire and your pois are in a tangle spread your arms and spinand that fire blankets are under-rated,

Jessemember
118 posts

Posted:
And along the lines of what arialtetsuo just said: Not only should you practice your steps so that they are all smooth. Practice what to do if you make a mistake. Practice tangling your chains and unraveling them as quickly as possible. Practice wraping a chain around your arm and getting it off without panicing. Practice rolling up in your fire blanket (It would be a shame to discover WHILE on fire that your fireblanket is folded up in such a way that it is impossible to unravel and wrap around you in any sort of expedient manner...) and operating a fire extinguisher. etc.There are several threads on safety practices on this board. I highly recommend reading them. Have fun with it, but remember, it's like swimming! Always have a buddy! (esp. at the beginning...)

gάrbǿaddict
521 posts
Location: Bristol / London / Norwich / Chennai, India (UK) (...

Posted:
1-Don't move on to quick, practice with unlit fire poi as the weight is v.different & they an build up quite alot of speed. Make sure you don't hit yourself in a session then you can light up.2-respect the fire. don't be cocky or try to show off.TAKE IT SLOWLY.3-have water around.4-Have fun. when you do it fore the first time it will be AMAXING (esp. the noise)hope this helps.peace out.garbo tongue

be excellent to each other: safe:

AnonymousPLATINUM Member

Posted:
Thanks for the info guys, I definately won't be taking it too lightly. All that info has given me the willy's. Of course we are talking about Fire....Thanks for keeping me safeJo