Forums > Social Chat > twirling skill = musical skill = mathematical skill???

Login/Join to Participate

Burntmember
13 posts

Posted:
Hi guys, Im new to HOP and twirling(4 months now) and i am interested to find out if twirlers in general have musical or mathematical ability. The reason i ask is cos my brother is a drummer and recently had a go of my poi and reckons the two are similar. Also, 'They' say musical & mathematical skill quite often go hand in hand. Ive always been good at maths and since i started twirling i feel like maths is getting easier (im studying engineering).Any thoughts?

Play with fire and you might get Burnt.

Shouden-CrDSILVER Member
Veteran Member
495 posts

Posted:
Well, I'm okay at math, and can generally succeed at anything I put my mind to. But I don't think math has come any easier to me since I started poi. And I was a musician long before I ever even picked up my first set of glowsticks.... (: I'd have to say it helps me flow with the music better. I've always had a problem when dancing, I have always felt like I didnt know what to do with my arms. Poi solved that problem. :P------------------ [PLUR]-=Crazy Raver Dude=-

-=ÇrazyRaverÐude=-

Bendymember
750 posts

Posted:
Drummers? They don't count as musicians!! j/k winkNot so sure about the music link - the rhythm is a big part of what you need, and that is only a part of the music. Maths - yeah, I guess I have used maths for juggling and twirling to learn when to do things, but after a while they start to feel natural and I don't really think about the math.

Courage is the man who can stop after only one peanut

Firefairymember
115 posts

Posted: