Forums > Beginner Staff Moves > little help if you please.........

Login/Join to Participate

Edanmember
6 posts

Posted:
A friend of mine told me about this site, and it's pretty cool. Anyway, I'm really new to all of this, and I've been reading through some of the posts and I was just wondering if anyone could tell me what the best way to start with staff. everything I know comes from rifle flipping, which is quite diffent from staff.......so if anyone can help......

I don't have a favorite saying, I don't know why...........

dj_gooseSunburnt Bournda Beach Bum
157 posts

Posted:
I think the way everybody starts using staff is to steal your mothers broom handle, break a few light bulbs in the house before realizing that it is best done outside and just getting used to the wieght, length and spin of normal wood. U could try weighting the ends if u wish, but it shouldn't be nessesary if u are just starting. Anyway, u just progress from that. Enjoy it chief and try not to set the family cat on fire (it ****in stinks!!!!!!)

Goose>

Look to the moon, look to the stars, and if you still can't find happyness...find a bar!!!

Edanmember
6 posts

Posted:
I got the whole going out side and I have made my own staffs.......the thing is I just don't know how to turn the staff I know into something that won't set me ablaze......you know what I mean??

Psiboing
529 posts

Posted:
Hi Edan,

a good place to start for basic staff moves are the lessons on HoP:
Staff Lessons (HoP)
Also check out the
video forums
and the
https://www.homeofpoi.com/poiavi's.htm
HoP video archive

Many of the moves in there are pretty advanced, but there will be some easy ones too.