Drag'nmember
8 posts

Posted:
Any of you guys familiar with Samoan fire knife dancing?
I've been twirling with contemporary long staves since about 1995.I thought I had taken my skills about as far as I could go, and had lost my passion for it.Then I got my hands on a video of the World fireknife championships , held in Hawaii every year.WOW! The top competitors blew my mind. It opened the door to a whole new world of movement.
I immediately set about building myself a set of the shorter fire knife staves and started practising with a renewed enthusiasm.Its just like it was when I first started.I'm totally addicted . Cant put them down!
I just got back from holiday in N.Z. and Thailand.
Had lots of time to work on my new style, combining contemporary moves with traditional fire knife.The difference with using a shorter staff with a long wick on one end, to the long fire staff is quite a challenge.Unlit its not so bad, but as soon as you light those wicks its a whole new ball game! The flames are sooo much closer to your hands, leaving no room for the slightest error, and the speed of the shorter stick forces your mind to the brink of confusion.
I wanted to take advantage of my beautifull surroundings in Phuket to shoot a video for this years video comp.But the challenge of twirling the short staff in windy conditions with poor fuel prooved too much for me ,and I came away with
a minor but painfull burn,and not much good footage.Dam it! That means I'm going to have to reshoot here in Tokyo in 2 Degree temperatures.
AAAAAAAARRRGGGH!

[Nx?]BRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,749 posts

Posted:
nice stuff, gott any links, viedos we could look at?

Nix?

This is a post by tom, all spelling is deleberate
-><- Kallisti

Drag'nmember
8 posts

Posted:
sorry, the video I have is a copy of a copy of a ....and any way I dont have a clue when it comes to down loading videos onto this confounded machine.I cant even get it to play the vids you guys have on here!