Forums > Beginner Staff Moves > What are the dimensions of your staff?

Login/Join to Participate

Astarmember
1,591 posts

Posted:
I just bought a 1.244M (4 foot 1 inch) piece of stainless steel tubeing. It's diameter is 2.54CM (1 inch) the thickness of the metal is 1.7 CM (0.7 inches)thick and weighs ~1.1KG (~2 1/2 pounds) without wicks which will be added latter)

Im a complete newbie to staff but I like heavier staff and seem to be able to do smoother looking things with one. I think this is heavier the most staff's but the sturdy stainless steel it's made out of should make it tougher then I will ever need it to be.

Just wondering what the measurements of your staff's are

PS-sorry if a thread like this already exists, I tried to find one and couln't find anything

[ 14. November 2002, 17:30: Message edited by: Astar ]

SickpuPpyNinja Rockstar!
1,100 posts

Posted:
My demensions are five foot by 3/4 inch dia. plus an eye bolt and the wicks, which all works out to be about six feet (or a little over two meters for you of the metric persuasion). It is made of a steel/aluminum alloy, quite heavy as staffs go. I prefered my old lighter copper one, but I've been too lazy to build another one.

But let me be the first to go on the old rant of the demensions and the weight of the staff are not important. It is a question of personal comfort. Some people use three foot (1 meter) staffs, four and a half. Personally I prefer six foot staffs for fire, as that is the length I have used most over all the years I was in martial arts. I like a lighter staff for sheer speed but heavier staffs are better for smoother slower routines.

But for you anything you like is best. I am always amazed at questions like this because it matters no more than what you are comfrtable with (or would like to be comforable with).

Cheers,

sick

Jesus helps me trick people.

Astarmember
1,591 posts

Posted: