Forums > Beginner Staff Moves > What's the BEST way to spin a staff?

Login/Join to Participate
Page:
Xorn69SILVER Member
13 posts

Posted:
I'm reasonably new at spinning my stick and I've developed a method of twirling hand over hand... It's similar to the method shown in Xaeda's staff animations, but it's not the same.. Instead of using the right hand to spin clockwise, I use the right hand to spin anticlockwise! (if you look at the animation, just picture her using her right hand to spin the staff in the opposite direction and you'll hopefully know how I mean)

I've been doing it for a few months and I'm very comfortable with it but now that I want to learn more complex tricks I'm worried that it'll be impossible because of my chosen method of spinning... Am I going about it the wrong way? Is there only one proper way to spin a staff? Should I unlearn what I've learnt?

Mr MajestikSILVER Member
coming to a country near you
4,696 posts

Posted:
I've always considered the best way to spin to be not hitting yourself(especially in the head)

"but have you considered there is more to life than your eyelids?"

jointly owned by Fire_Spinning_Angel and Blu_Valley

stickmanWorld Champ Procrastinator
580 posts

Posted:
I have a question concerning spinning figure 8s..

you got the forward and backward fig 8, then forwards you also have the gunshot or whatever its called where you give the staff an extra half spin at the back and then another extra at the front to it almost rolls over your shoulder (dont know if this is making sense.. if not, please disregard, cuz theres more to come)
the backwards you have the over-the-shoulder-roll as well coming from the back, but is there a way to give another half spin in the front while spinning backwards fig 8?

everyone understand? good..

loki.c1687SILVER Member
addict
546 posts

Posted:
i sometimes just roll it over the back of my plam its abit uncontroled but works
mike.c

Rules and responsibities: