Page:
Salingermember
382 posts

Posted:
So can this be done with staffs as well?

I've seen it done with poi enough times and I don't see why not but I've never heard of anyone doing it before and nothing came up when I searched for it in the staff section.

Anyone done it? I'm sure it'd look sick!

A conspiracy of silence speaks louder than words...

Mark PBRONZE Member
old hand
1,031 posts

Posted:
pyrophile, I have been tempted to try wire wool with the staff as I have done it enough times with poi but I am not very good with the staff as yet and I am far too worried about giving myself some serious burns if I do try it

Mark P

Salingermember
382 posts

Posted:
Mark,

What things should I consider when setting out to do this? i.e. safety & construction

Cheers.

Mark PBRONZE Member
old hand
1,031 posts

Posted:
I havent had much experience with anything other than cages for poi.

Someone once told me that you could just wrap your wicks with some wire wool and use something like a little but of wire to hold them on - I dont know wether this would damage your wicks or not as it would leave some molten steel behind.
Another way would be to make a chicken wire cage to attach to the ends on the staff.

As for safety, make sure you have plenty of space between you and any spectators as the sparks do go for a long way. Remember to wear long sleeves and trousers if possible, this just acts as enough of a barrier to stop you getting little burns on legs/arms. You also must remember that you wont be able to do all the moves that you can do with the staff, things like the corkscrew would just end up throwing loads of sparks into your body.