Page:
MEERCATBRONZE Member
A Meerkat that eats chicken
194 posts

Posted:
I have been doing single staff for about 5 months now and i am not sure if i am progressing well. Anyone got ne tricks to encourage faster spinning.

[Nx?]BRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,749 posts

Posted:
Im afraid I found the speed only really came after long time practice, Id realise how fast i was actually going afterwards. However, anything where you hold the staff off centre is good and figure eight passes are always nice, as is 'the scoop'

have really hurt myself going to fast with simple tricks, let it come is better.

N

This is a post by tom, all spelling is deleberate
-><- Kallisti

CharlesBRONZE Member
Corporate Circus Arts Entertainer
3,989 posts

Posted:
Speed really only comes with practice...and that practice wil benfit from going much slower int he beginning.

The slower you practice a move, the more solid and less variance you will get, which increases the speed later on.

Personally, after three years of doing staff, I've noticed five different 'bursts' of speed that have just happened really suddenly.

If you try to go fast at the beginning, and the pattern isn't as solid because you are going fast, you'll be teachiung yourself how to do a wobbly pattern and so your speed wil suffere later.

Practice isn't recorded in time, for speed practice. 1/2 and hour of figure 8 isn't as important as HOW MANY TIMES you repeat the figure 8 pattern in a solid movement. Does that make sense?

I mean it's better to repeat the move slowly and solidly a hundred times in 10 minutes, than to practice it 40 times in 1/2 hour.

The repetition is how the body learns to go faster smoothly. And it won't go faster unless it is smooth.

Anyway, thats my take on speed.

FYI - Speed is one of my major moves and styles, with 1.5 feet of fully soaked wick on each end of my staff I can put the whole thing out in 10-15 seconds

:-)

Happy staffing...

HoP Posting Guidelines
* Is it the Truth?