KilLJoYmember
5 posts

Posted:
greetings all....
now i am new to the world of staff... i have gotten the hang of the standard spinning, passing behind the back and overhead that kinda thing but watching others do it them seem to get more rotations in thier spin... is this because they are also twirling it between thier fingers and if this is so is it just a standard baton twirl kinda thing???

thnx

He who expects nothing is blessed for he shall never be disappointed

TopHatmember
34 posts

Posted:
Well if you see these twirlers, why don't you ask them? Or... Go through it slowly and see how far you can push yourself, if you think you can add an extra rotation in try it slowly first to see if it works then build up speed (but speed isn't everything).

PS - Almost forgot... A lot of extra rotations can be added by turning the body (double staff). You can spin with one hand and fulfil quite a lot of different moves.

[ 19 April 2002, 13:19: Message edited by: TopHat ]

Ouch! Eep! Damn Leg Hair stop getting in the way!

KilLJoYmember
5 posts

Posted:
ok so its more body movement than actually using your fingers.... great thnx

is that finger baton like twirling used much with longer the staff?

He who expects nothing is blessed for he shall never be disappointed

lluhmasmember
63 posts

Posted:
The longer the staff the harder it is to finger spin...same with wieght - the heavier, the harder.
That said, with practice you can finger spin a monster staff without difficulty. My fingers are so much stronger now than when I started.
As you get better the staff will naturally move from your hand further into your fingers, it almost happens unconsciuosly until you get to a point where the staff is held in your fingers when your doing a weave etc.
It is then that you can get a few extra rotations into your spins...

BAHOOGA! It's the penguin-people!Gertrude, get me my lollypop and we'll lick 'em to death..and?

SpykeBRONZE Member
28 posts

Posted: