Forums > Beginner Staff Moves > Shoulder Wrap With 1m Staff?

Login/Join to Participate

GodlovinSpongemember
125 posts

Posted:
I just started getting a shoulder wrap with my long staff (5'8 long) Im not that good at it yet cause I get very little practice. Anyways, I was wondering if there is any way of doing it with my meter staffs? It doesnt seem long enough, but maybe someone has figured out a way to pull it off?Also, same basic question.. is there a way to do the shoulder wrap so that when I wrap my long staff I dont end up so far down the staff?------------------May the fire of God burn its impression on your heart.

May the fire of God burn its impression on your heart.

CharlesBRONZE Member
Corporate Circus Arts Entertainer
3,989 posts

Posted:
You can defintely do most types of wraps with the shorter staffs.Downside is, its MUCH MUCH MUCH harder, you're far more likely to burn yourself and the missing weight makes it hard to feel if you are in control or not and when it's going off somewhere else (aaarrrrrrrrggggghhh) on it's own.A tip I would suggest is instead of using th e momentum of the staff to roll it around, as you would with larger heavier staffs, try pushing the little guy with your shoulder.This is much more like a devil stick move where the momemtum is maintained by 'chasing' one point of the stick with another contact point and is the only way I know of easily maintaining wraps and other moves with lightweight staves...------------------Charles (INFERNO)newdolbel@hotmail.comhttps://juggling.co.nz

HoP Posting Guidelines
* Is it the Truth?
* Is it Fair to all concerned?
* Will it build Goodwill and Better Friendships?
* Will it be Beneficial to all concerned?

AnonymousPLATINUM Member

Posted: