RixatrixBRONZE Member
paranoid of gov't conspiracies
217 posts

Posted:
I've been spinning fire poi for a couple of months now but everytime i light them there just never as big as i'd like them any suggestions? i use mostly paraffin to light my poi and then a little lighter fluid. i'd love to hear any suggestion and sorry if this topic was already made but i looked for anything on this and couldnt find a thing. thanks for any help!~

onewheeldaveGOLD Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,252 posts

Posted:
Bigger wicks will give you a bigger flame.

For cheap experimentation you can make wicks out of old towels (check that they're 100% cotton first)- towel wicks hold more fuel and give a bigger flame but only last a few burns.

For all wicks, as I understand it, the more volume the longer the burn will last as they hold more paraffin. The bigger the actual surface area of the wick the bigger the flame will be.

So the method of wrapping the wicks also has an affect- cathedral style wrapping gives more surface area for the same amount of wick than a cylindrical wick, and therefore a bigger flame.

"You can't outrun Death forever.
But you can make the Bastard work for it."

--MAJOR KORGO KORGAR,
"Last of The Lancers"
AFC 32

Educate your self in the Hazards of Fire Breathing STAY SAFE!

RixatrixBRONZE Member
217 posts

Posted:
thanks now i'm going to have to experiment!~

DurbsBRONZE Member
Classically British
5,689 posts

Posted:
Make sure you give your wicks a nice long soak too. If you can, soak them for about 10 mins before burning them - this gives a nice even flame which lasts quite a bit longer than a quick dunk which I've seen some people do.

Also, if you've been burnt the wicks alot (2 months every day for example, not every other weekend) you can do a quick cheat and just reverse the wick i.e. take it off and put it back on with the soot on the inside - this can also give you a bigger, cleaner flame.