TamimSILVER Member
28 posts

Posted:
Hey guys I have some questions, and need some help with what equipment I should chose.

Ok I am new to poi, right now I use 2 glow sticks with shoe laces tied threw the ends, thats my poi, and it seems to work OK.

I got into it more and have been doing it for a month now and noticed that on here the poi you guys use have those special handles, so I looked at the poi section in the store

https://www.homeofpoi.com/shop/browse.asp?cat=200&path=50,200

and was thinking of getting one of the proper pois.

so questions are as follows.

1. Do I really need to get a proper poi like the ones they sell in the store? Do they help me with the moves?

2. Is the shoelace and glowstick poi a crappy poi?

3. Which poi should I get? The beginner, performance, or Buzz poi?

4. If I learn moves with the glowstick poi will it be harder to learn them with the handled poi?

5. How come the fire poi on the chains dont have the special handles that the normal poi do?

Thanx

Your only one drug away from liking techno.

TheBovrilMonkeySILVER Member
Liquid Cow
2,629 posts

Posted:
Ok, lets have a go at these questions .

1. Having fancy poi doesn't help you learn new moves, they just look better most of the time.
In fact, for me at least, tailed poi usually make learning new moves harder because the tails keep tangling and take ages to untangle. I use juggling balls inside long socks to learn new stuff with.

2. Nope, they're not crappy at all, they work well enough. Just watch out for friction burns - depending on how you hold the strings, you might get them from the string rubbing on your fingers.

3. I personally have only used the beginner sets, and that was only for a couple of minutes, but I've heard very good things about the buzz ones, and the idea of having pretty much everything removable seems sound to me, so I'd recommend them.
I'd also recommend having a play with as many kinds of poi as you can to find which ones you like the most.