plucho101member
6 posts

Posted:
Hi there,I've been practicing poi for about two months now ( with tennis balls) I found it quite helpful since the weight helps you get momentum. Now, last week I tried doing the same moves with glowsticks, and I found it quite difficult. The main problem is that glowsticks are much ligther than my tennis balls, making it hard to to get the momentum going. So here is my questions for those experiecned people that do glowstring. Is there any way to add a little wight to the glowstciks. I thougth of putting some weight attached to the wickles? Or will I just have to get use to the ligth weigth and try to get the momenut going back again?
Any help would be greatly appreciated

NYCNYC
9,232 posts

Posted:
I find it interesting when fire people who are WAY better than me suddenly pick up glowsticks and suck. I can honestly do every trick that I know on both, just as easily.

I was thinking about this yesterday actually...

I think some fire people learn to use the weight to help them with tricks. Once that weight is gone their "crutch" is gone. The opposite is true with people who only use glowsticks: Once they add weight and slow down spining, some of the "tricks" that they used (like using the momentum to finish a trick) don't work.

My advise is to learn on both. I think it gives you a different perspective/ability if you can pick up glowsticks or heavy poi and do the same stuff.

If you really want to just weight glowsticks you can:
1) Use your chains with glowsticks (they will add some weight)
2) Add multiple glowsticks.
3) Attatch glowsticks to your unlit fire wicks.
4) Literally add a weight (quicklinks or something) but they can HURT if you hit yourself with them!

Now I'm curious... I'm gonna go post a new one to see what the demographics are...

Well, shall we go?
Yes, let's go.
[They do not move.]

NickCMonkey Wrangler
183 posts

Posted: