flidBRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,136 posts

Posted:
DON'T PLAY WITH FIREWORKS!

Now we've got that out of the way, has anyone found any good sparklers for poi available in the shops this year? I bought 2 different types from Homebase this afternoon, both made by "black cat" and tried them tonight.

The coloured ones are quite short and are really rather crap. They burn in about 30 seconds when being spun and hardly any sparks come off. "Mega sparklers" are alright, but nothing special. Picture here.

I've never used sparklers before today, is it safe to attach more than one to each poi? I only did forwards/backwards weave today for safety reasons (ie they add several inches onto my poi and i don't want to hit myself). I've read comments on scare mungering gov sites that they burn at 1800 degrees celcius, how do they compare when being hit by them to being hit by kevlar (the one time one hit me it just left some soot).

Blackbirdmember
337 posts

Posted:
Sparklers are overrated. They're long, so you have to shorten whatever you're spinning with, they don't put out much light or that many sparks, they don't burn for long, and when they hit you they really hurt. They're also really hard to get lit at the same time! And I've had them go out frequently too.

Saying that, I got in the paper spinning with them on Primrose Hill (London, UK) bonfire night last year. Weren't any other firespinners around though...

Go try and make those ones with the wire wool that people keep talking about.

x X x ß £ Å Ĉ К ß î я Ð x X x

flidBRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,136 posts

Posted:
>Sparklers are overrated. They're long, so you
>have to shorten whatever you're spinning with,
>they don't put out much light or that many
>sparks, they don't burn for long, and when they
>hit you they really hurt. They're also really
>hard to get lit at the same time! And I've had
>them go out frequently too.