Brigemember
10 posts

Posted:
I've been practicing with (non-fire) poi for about 3 months now and i LOVE IT...Hopefully by spring time i'll progress to FIRE! My question is whats the best way to hold the poi? It feels like its gonna slip off my fingers..There're two finger straps and it's sewn in the middle and they're wide...Actually i bought them from this website, it's the bright fuzzy tennis ball like ones with bright tails hanging...The instructional video i bought, which is awesome by the way, the only thing is she didn't have the same finger loops like mine. I've tried a couple of different ways but none were too comfy..Could someone please tell me the technically correct way to hold the poi? Thanks!

DJ DantanaBRONZE Member
veteran
1,495 posts

Posted:
I use my first two fingers, and if it feels like the loops are slipping you can use you thumb to grip them while they are on you fingers (use whatever feels comfortable to you, a little experimentation will help) after a while you will get used to it. I can even do an open handed style, but it takes practice to get to where you don't send one flying occationaly winkyou can also use you next two fingers, or any combination, whatever you feel comfortable with (especialy if you have blisters developing and busting and stuff grin ) I know when I first started I had to change grips constantly to avoid rubbing off my skin, but I have thick, tuff skin now smile

we eat and we drink and we smoke and we try!

Kinudin (Soul Fyre)veteran
1,325 posts

Posted:
If you get moleskin and pu tit where the string rubs against your skin, the irritation should go away.

Bendymember
750 posts

Posted:
There is no "right way" to hold poi. It is all up to whatever you feel comfortable with. Some people use handles, some use finger loops, some use straps that attach at the wrist.I like to use a handle for non-fire stuff, but with fire I like using loops. With loops, I prefer to use my ring and middle fingers. smile