byron76member
11 posts

Posted:
for months now I've been trying all sorts ofdifferent things on the ends of my poi. One of the most rewarding experiments has been a set of wire baskets (coarse screen in a 4"x6" cylinder shape, open at top). I am a welder so I have Kevlar gloves that work well to pick out coals from a camp fire (thick leather gloves work well also). A fist-sized coal in each basket makes for a beautiful show with sparks emanating about two feet from the ring. BE CAREFUL though these things get HOT! I’ve made a nice set for shows that is actually a basket in a basket to protect my legs ect. from occasional grazing. One more thing, if anyone tries this, make sure to use a woven or stamped type of screen (lathe wire for plaster or stucco works primo) Do not use wire with solder or galvanization. the solder will melt and fly everywhere and super heated galvanized coating emits some really toxic stuff.These things also make a nice sound, the coals almost sing, and if you can find a wood coal that crackles a lot, that is a nice effect as well.be safe, have fun

PeleBRONZE Member
the henna lady
6,193 posts

Posted:
Ingenious!Thanks for sharing.I do a fire eating hot coals trick and never once thought to spin them.How long do these tend to last during a spin?------------------Pele Higher, higher burning fire...making music like a choir...https://www.pyromorph.com

Pele
Higher, higher burning fire...making music like a choir
"Oooh look! A pub!" -exclaimed after recovering from a stupid fall
"And for the decadence of art, nothing beats a roaring fire." -TMK

byron76member
11 posts

Posted: