HappyStickermember
42 posts

Posted:
I am rather new to this....just got down the three and four beat weave and i am looking for another teaching tool to supplement this web site.... from yall's experience what ones are the best out there that have the basics but also move into more advanced moves? I would prefer a teacher in person but in Lubbock, TX they are pretty hard to come by :-) Thankx -Keith

If you had a friend that was a tightrope walker, and you were walking down the street and he just fell over......that would be unacceptable.

becBRONZE Member
521 posts

Posted:
...(well I just have to do it don't I?) smile"The Fire Twirling Book" (available through this site - visit the shop, or direct from us at moonfest@bigpond.com) goes through technique for single staff - I know this might not be exactly what you're after if you're a poi purist... but if you get into advanced staff you'll find lots of technique translates to poi as well, and if not - you can just get really good at staff... besides that I'm afraid you'll find very little actually written on twirling - but of course check out the videos available - "Circles of Light" and the other poi video available on this site - they're good resources...

AnonymousPLATINUM Member

Posted:
there's actually a comprehensive meteor book available from this site which I'm sure would have some poi moves (easily translated that is).. and the video from this site is highly recommended from a friend of mine..I honestly think if someone brings out a poi book they should have *real* poi talent.. e.g. Jo D or some other person I have not yet met. 'Cause this site with its discussions from around the globe will teach you more than a book from a very average poi twirler.

RolloTCBRONZE Member
11 posts

Posted: