Forums > Technical Discussion > need basic help (sorry I'm slow)

Login/Join to Participate

tricky56member
23 posts

Posted:
Ok, here is the deal. I have been reading some posts on the board, and looking for tutorials or info pages on getting started with fire poi. However, I haven't really found any basic info on the topic. I have been spinning glow, photons, and fabric poi for close to 8 months now, and I am really ready to move on to a new challenge. I have spun fire twice, but I can't ever seem to keep the wicks lit. If I spin them at all the go out. I have to go really slow. I used a pair of homemade towel wicks, and citronella / lamp oil. I would really appreciate any help on the subject of fuels, tips on preparing wicks/chaind for twirling, and any other beginner fire tips that the board could over. thanks------------------

adamricepoo-bah
1,015 posts

Posted:
There could be any number of problems.Your wicks might be too small. Unlikely, but it's a possibility--they'd have to be awfully small for this to be an issue. Or you may have bound the towelling too tightly.You might be twirling too fast before the fire is well caught. Citronella takes 10 seconds--maybe more--to really get going.You might not be giving your wicks a good soak, or they might be wet, or your fuel might be contaminated with water--hard to know without seeing your exact setup.

Laugh while you can, monkey-boy

Finnmember
341 posts

Posted:
There are several threads on wick construction - kevlar and towell. If you do a search you'll find them fairly easily. You'll find the search button under the big post reply button.Finn smile

tricky56member
23 posts

Posted: