RETTWINSmember
9 posts

Posted:
I've been spinning poi for a few months on and off. I came across a move and I'm sure it has to have a name but I'm not sure what it is. I'll try to describe it. It feels like if you are doing a weave and go to turn around but you don't. Instead you kind of do the weaves far to each side and get a big circle in front of you in the middle. The weaves are reversed of each other (ie one is done forwards, one backwards). THanks for any help.
Peace, Jarrett

colemanSILVER Member
big and good and broken
7,330 posts

Posted:
i think you're talking about spinning in the 'wall plane'.

to get into the move, did you do a forwards weave and then turn 90deg?
instead of the poi spinning at your sides, parallel to the direction you are facing, you spin with them either in front or behind you, perpendicular to the dirction you are facing.

if so then welcome to the wall plane

the wall plane has loads of advantages and is used loads by performers (especially clubswingers) as its means you are facing your audience but they can still see all the pretty circles side-on.

as you have discovered, it means that you can do fwd weave to rev weave without having to turn at all. and if you change direction of one of the poi, you are in the position you would normally spin butterflies in.

"i see you at 'dis cafe.
i come to 'dis cafe quite a lot myself.
they do porridge."
- tim westwood

spiralxveteran
1,376 posts

Posted:
Yeah you're definitely doing the forward-turn-reverse thing entirely in the wall plane

"Moo," said the happy cow.

pkBRONZE Member
Lambretta Fanatic
4,997 posts

Posted:
cole has too much time on his hands, cant be bothered coming to visit me in london but can spend all of today online huh.

JinXmushroom collector
208 posts

Posted:
i know this has been discused but i have heard this move called a low fountain.

am i wrong?

JinX : If it doesnt kill you it makes you stronger