CatastrophicBRONZE Member
44 posts

Posted:
So I have been playing with meteor for a few months now, and no one in my town spins meteor (that I know or have seen) so I am on my own techniques-wise.

I am currently spinning 7 feet of 1/4 inch aircraft cable with weighted tennis balls on either end. I bought "The Meteor Book" but I'm having problems, with no one to turn to.

Namely, my meteor folds up when I start doing helicopter style spins or trying to do the one-handed figure 8, or the windmill (tilting the helicopter down onto the vertical plane)...

The problem is that I am rather small and slight (5 ft 105 lb woman) and I dont have the arm or wrist strength to spin heavy-weighted meteor ends. I am wondering if my folding in half problem (which turns into one-handed poi tricks right fast) is due to me not having enough weight on the ends of my cable, to create the tension that makes it perform staff-like tricks.

I tried adding more weight to the tennis balls, but then it tweaked out my wrists when I did poi-style moves...

Any ideas anyone??? How heavy a weight should I use on the ends of a meteor to really get it to behave like a staff??

Also, Im trying to think of a way to attach poi-handles (double loop variety) to my meteor so I can have handles for poi-moves and not have accidental releases..

Thanks, any ideas would be much appreciated!!!

PS. Anyone going to Burningman this year who spins meteor???? Lets talk!

arashiPooh-Bah
2,364 posts

Posted:
i've never read that book. but aircraft cable? that seems foolish. so thin! thicker means easier to hold, so you won't need the loops. i think it woul;d help to have some thickness so you have more of a staff feel, just my opinion i suppose.