MikeIconGOLD Member
Pooh-Bah
2,109 posts

Posted:
Im fairly new to poi. I can do most of the beginner/intermediate stuff and a few advanced moves but my troubles come when trying to transition them together. I ordered the CoL2 video the other day which should help me with some things but Im a bit too impatient to wait till it gets here to learn. So, if anyone could help me out with a walkthrough or video of the following transitions I would be most greatful:

Weave to butterfly w/o wraps
Weave to vertical moves w/o wraps

Currently I can transition from weave to bf with different wraps but Im not a huge fan of wraps. I can also do a weave, then stop, going into normal swinging, then go into bf but I would rather leave the seperated beat out of it. I can transition to vertical from butterfly but thats kind of limiting.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Let's turn those old bridges we crossed into ashes.
We'll blaze a new trail,
and torch the rough patches.

-Me

poiaholic22member
531 posts

Posted:
Just because I love posting this video I feel it necessary to link it twice in one day.Though it is from COL1 me thinks.

MikeIconGOLD Member
Pooh-Bah
2,109 posts

Posted:
Unfortunately my Real Player is messed up and I cant view that vid

We'll blaze a new trail,

-Me

MikeIconGOLD Member
Pooh-Bah
2,109 posts

Posted:
Nevermind, downloaded new version of real player and it works fine. Thanks for the vid.

We'll blaze a new trail,

-Me

AdeSILVER Member
Are we there yet?
1,897 posts

Posted:
One way of getting from the weave to the butterfly without wraps is to just turn your hips 90 degrees.

NYCNYC
9,232 posts

Posted:
Hrmmm... I don't think so Ade. To go from BF to Weave you necessarily have to change the directions of one of the poi. Either with a wrap or by slightly altering the orientation of one or both poi.