Forums > Beginner Poi Moves > damn i dont understand anythin...

Login/Join to Participate

lilwaynemember
3 posts

Posted:
what the hell is a 5 beat weave?? acutally what is a weave?? there was a topic and this person was like "i did a 2 wraps+5 beats+2 beats"...err..what does this mean???i mite be askin mad stupid questions but im new at this and i wanna know what every term and wanna know how many things you can do with whirlin glowsticks...if u can answer my stupid questions please answer them...thanks

Astarmember
1,591 posts

Posted:
Ill tell you what.

You spend 5 minutes looking around this site and if you can't find the section that answers all your questions come back here and I will help you.

Jelloambiguous
646 posts

Posted:
Just give it some time Get used to not understanding everything at once, things will click as you go along

pkBRONZE Member
Lambretta Fanatic
4,997 posts

Posted:
hehe a little taster for the mind.

2 beat weave is what is also known as a figure of eight, where a single beat on either side of your body, both arms cross the body and the move is in split time [half a beaty behind the other][can be done with the right arm crossing over the left or crossing under].
a weave is a 3 beat variation also known as a cross and follow, it is a combination of both the 2 beat moves above, but starting with the right arm crossing over the left then instead of coming back accross you can place it under the left arm when your left arm is crossed over to the right side of your body.

other variations on the weave moves are adding extra beats as NYC posted he has trouble with extrabeats.

extra beats can be added by different means, ie: wrap release, where the poi string wraps the arm then once you move that arm to the other side of your body it will release.
simple ones can be added by simple wrist ajustments. and others can be done by offsetting both arms, this is a more advanced at not every one can get the whole offsetting concept.