Forums > Beginner Poi Moves > Alternate Butterfly/Mexican Wave

Login/Join to Participate

Tambomember
97 posts

Posted:
I am having real problems with this move! and I was wondering if anyone could give me some tips. I know what it is I need to do in my head, but when it comes to doing it my brain says Fxxk off! and I end up in tangled mess or wholloping myself in the face!

I am new to poi and do not have any one around who can show me what I am doing wrong. I follow the instructions on this site, but I think its because the poi are swinging forward and you have to move your hand back over your shoulder and for some reason my brain does not compute and everything goes wrong.
Any tips or help would be greatly appreciated as I don't have any where else to get advice from!!!!

Thanks XxxXxx

flidBRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,136 posts

Posted:
try doing the overhead butterfly first, when you can do one beat normal, one beat overhead etc then the mexican wave is essentially this motion in split time.

If you can do the corkscrew and you stand up you have the windmill. The mexican wave is the same as the windmill, but one poi is travelling in the opposite direction. Thus if you start doing the corkscrew but the right hand is going counter-clockwise and the left hand clockwise (i forget the name of this), when you stand up you have the mexican wave.

flidBRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,136 posts

Posted:
another important thing to note is to practice new types of move one hand at at time, with the other hand out of the way. Do this with each hand before trying complicated moves with 2 poi at once.

Tambomember
97 posts

Posted:
Thanks for your advice! I will give it a go at home tonight (if its not raining! )

Intalamember
86 posts

Posted: