TrunkZmember
16 posts

Posted:
I have been stringing for about 10 months off and on and everytime i go to a club to
string or just fool around there is always someone there trying to out do me especially
guys from austin. They always tell me that I shouldn't even be stringing because only
people from Austin can do it. It's weird like they always try to battle me and my friends
and i thought that stringing wasn't all about that. Eventually we do end up throwing
a session. We usually win and they get mad cause they say we have no right to be
stringing, that san antonio is not a rave city like austin. I love to go to austin and when i
do and string down there the guys there never give me shit if anything they help me
so why do they think that when they come over here they have something to prove.....
no disrespect to all the ravers in austin but why do some people tend to do it..........

TrunkZ

Kabukimanmember
42 posts

Posted:
They must be jealous of your skill... and can't settle for copying (flattering) you. It's a shame but some of the people in WA are that way too. I find that if one person is ignorant enough not to help or be helped by someone else with the same type of talent, then the former person is best left alone to contemplate their own misconceptions of what is actually unique.

That may have been too awkward of an explanation but it's the psychological equivilant to telling military personel to go polish their chevrons.

Personally I get a good laugh out of someone who says they are better than anyone else at anything, and then tries to go and prove it. All that they are really accomplishing is proving that they do it differently, once they realize this they become much more pleasant people to be around. For the time being, plenty of elbow room is a much better policy.