Kabukimanmember
42 posts

Posted:
Greetings. So yeah... I've been spinning poi for about four months now, and though I suppose I am good on a technical level, I find my performances to be kind of lacking. When you spin for an audience what kind of things do you do to keep them interested? I know what I like to do to entertain myself, but, as a musician, I know that doesn't necessarily do much for a crowd of people. Any pointers would be wonderful.

I wouldn't know... I've never given a cartoon character an orgasm.

dulce flamesmember
234 posts

Posted:
I've never performed on stage or anything, but when I "perform," I basically dance as if noone was watching... Lose myself in my fire and the music..Of course I pay attention to where the people are and keep the focus aimed toward them, but I mostly just feel it and throw in all my tricks... So far I always end up being watched and appreciated, so I say just use your best moves and absorb yourself in it... I do that performing music or poi and it almost always leads to a positive audience response.. Best of luck! dulce flames

flash fireBRONZE Member
Sporadically Prodigal
2,758 posts

Posted:
running joke in these parts is to JUST DO THE WEAVE FAST!!

But, my advice: energy. lots of body movement, lots of eye contact with audience, lots of sass and look like you're confident and enjoying yourself.

IMO, technicality has very little bearing on the levels of appreciation offered by an uneducated audience.

HoP Posting Guidelines
Is it the Truth?
Is it Fair to all concerned?
Will it build Goodwill and Better Friendships?
Will it be Beneficial to all concerned?
If you can answer YES to these 4 questions then you may post a reply.

pozeeBRONZE Member
old hand
887 posts

Posted: