Forums > Beginner Poi Moves > Lie on the ground and work that six pack!!

Login/Join to Participate

Backpacker2kmember
30 posts

Posted:
I enjoy this lying on the ground move....very good for the abdominal muscles.1.front butterfly standing up2. work the butterfly into overhead butterfly (looks like a helicopter rotar on yer head)3. in this position, get down on your knees4. start leaning back keeping the butterfly in the horizontal position ( which should now be twirling around the stomach area )5. and sit up again (bringing the poi to the helicopter position)easy......ish......good for the gut though.also...try threading the needle when you're led down as well....looks cool

ABCDEFG...HIJKLMNOP...QRSTU and V..WXY and Zeeeee.Hey everybody look at me...now I know my ABC!

courtneemember
37 posts

Posted:
of course. im new to this stuff and am trying to put together routines that are insteresting for my friends, so i come up with this great butterfly variation where i end up on the ground with my legs folded under each other, doing the butterfly overhead and then slowly get back up. so far i hadnt seen it so i thought i mighta come up with something original, but it just seemed too easy to do for that. i was right, two people do it on the circles of light video and in cirque du soleil.. its still an amazing move, and most of the people ive seen do it untuck their legs and sit up that way, whereas i make a point to get up the same way i went down and work the hell outta my abdominals. i find that its more graceful and fluid to get up that way rather than have to jerk my knees out from under my bodyweight :)only variation i do with regards to your description is change the direction of my butterfly from vertical to horizontal slowly, as i sink to my knees. good upper thigh workout there, too.. and the transition is a bit more dramatic.-------------------nee

-nee

PeleBRONZE Member
the henna lady
6,193 posts

Posted: