AmberGOLD Member
48 posts

Posted:
hiwell i have a show soon. my first paid performance.i have no clue how much i should chargeand how long my show should run forit'll only be me performing.do you talk to the audience? i dont know what i would say. also ideas on a stage name! i was thinking something tribal, i want to get a tribal costume together, and i want to get some sort of business card to hand out but dont really know how to word it. any ideas people? i'm so excited to be performing smile

Pele'sWhippingBoymember
442 posts

Posted:
First off, why do you have these questions if you already have a paying gig? We had many of these details ahead of time so that our show would go over well immediately.Also, you didn't mention it, but since you asked questions that sound like someone who's never performed professionally, I wonder, do you have insurance? (I've learned from Pele well.)Not sure about some of these, but I worked as a safety at Pele's last show. Here's a few things for you as a performer to watch out for:- The audience may not clap. Have your safety/assistant watch the crowd. It turns out the audience may be too mezmerized or awe-struck to move. That happened and Pele didn't know she was doing well. They just couldn't move. The safety can tell the performer about their reactions.- The audience may not know how far back to be. We found that you'll need 15'x15' if you don't move much. Then another 5' on each side for safety. However, we found that adults and parents with kids stayed at least that far away. The kids (~10 yo) were less cautious and I had to move them back during a few key points.The length of the show depends on what you're doing. If it's only poi, 10 minutes may be enough. To the audience it's just "fire in circles" so even if you do all 100 moves on the site (how many are there?) to them they won't know and could get bored.What kind of music do you spin to? We used a modern mix of songs from the 80s on up. People had heard them and were i