JeannieGOLD Member
18 posts

Posted:
Okay, so I'm just starting out. Okay, so I've got a ways to go before I'm ready to start lighting my poi on fire. I'm excited. So, following the instructions off another poi website, I make myself a pair of finger wands, out of heavy wire and 100% cotton, just like they said to. I put them in a small amount of lighter fluid, take one out, and shake the excess fluid off. I walk ten feet away, and light it. Foomp. That's the sound cotton makes as it's engulfed in flame. The "wick" was only an inch by an inch by an inch and a half, but the flame was huge. I mean, HUGE. Easily a foot high. And HOT. I didn't know what to do with it! I've seen dancers use finger wands before, but I couldn't even begin to do anything with this thing. I just stared at it for awhile, then went to go put it out. I was supposed to blow it out?? This is insane, I thought. There is no way I'm ever going to control that kind of flame. And the wicks for poi are like three times bigger than this! Even if I practice, and become flawless with my tennis balls, I'll never be able to move to flaming poi. Okay, so I've still got a ways to go before I need to worry about flaming poi. Okay, so I'm scared. HELP! I don't want to be scared! I'm sooo friggin depressed now. What do I do? Tell me I just made a stupid mistake, like~ I shouldn't have used lighter fluid. Or~ I made the wicks too big. Or~ I shouldn't have used cotton. Or tell me that lots of people get scared of their first flame, and I shouldn't worry about it. I'll get over it, and all will be sunshine and daisies and kittens. smile Jeannie---------------"Tired and lonely,scared and depressed.Her visions of one daygo racing to next..."

É preciso amar as pessoas como se
Não houvesse amanhã.
We must love as if there was no tomorrow.

AnonymousPLATINUM Member

Posted: